Review: Eleanor Series

Product review by Susan K. Marlow,

The Old Schoolhouse Magazine, LLC, October, 2009.


Are you looking for a Christian “American Girls” series for your daughters? A series that uses real-life girls to tell true stories of character, history, and family? I have to say that you need look no further than The Eleanor Series. The author conceived the idea for her series while researching her own family’s rich American heritage . . . dating back to the early 1600s and stretching clear through Eleanor’s own growing up years as the daughter of a Texas dairy farmer during World War Two.


Each of the six books in the Eleanor series (seven if you include the Christmas book), is about 180 pages, hardbound for a beautiful “classic” look, and packed full of not only an engaging story from a specific period of American history, but pages of extra activities at the back of the book, as well. In addition, each of these books is thoroughly biblically based and immersed with the importance of Christian character and living for Christ in the girls’ daily lives.


Here’s a quick overview of each of the titles:

Book One, Mary Elizabeth: Welcome to America, takes readers from Wales to America aboard the ship, Assurance, as Mary Elizabeth’s family immigrates to the New World—Virginia. Godly perseverance—never give up—is emphasized throughout the exciting story of the family’s adventures.


Book Two, Victoria Grace: Courageous Patriot, follows the adventures of a young girl whose heart’s desire is to help sick people. Caught up in the Revolutionary War, Victoria Grace learns to assist the doctor in caring for the wounded, and learns courage along the way.


In Book Three, Katie Sue: Heading West, readers join a girl who is not excited about moving from her home (and best friend) in Tennessee all the way to Texas, a strange, unknown place. Traveling by covered wagon, Katie Sue must learn to trust her father (and her heavenly Father) to bring her safely to her new home.


Book Four, Sarah Jane: Liberty’s Torch, touches on an unusual event that I’ve not seen in many other historical fiction books. Sarah Jane belongs to a wealthy family in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. They travel by train to New York City to watch the unveiling of the Statue of Liberty in 1886. Along the way, Sarah Jane learns the importance of “letting her light shine” by being a good witness of Christ’s love to others.


The author herself, Eleanor Jo, is the heroine of Book Five, Eleanor Jo: The Farmer’s Daughter. Growing up on a farm during the tumultuous times of World War Two teaches Eleanor the value of hard work and of working together. Victory gardens, ration stamps, and collecting tin foil for the War effort give readers a close-up look at this uncertain time in our nation’s history.


Book Six, Melanie Ann: A Legacy of Love, is the story of the author’s real-life granddaughter, who becomes the Keeper of the Key to the treasure chest of collectibles from the family’s past. A teapot from the 1600s, Katie Sue’s locket, and other special items tie this modern girl to her distant ancestors from the past. Love and putting others first is the theme that carries readers through this last book of the series.



In addition, Eleanor Jo: A Christmas to Remember, is a companion book to the series and shares a very special Christmas on the farm during the Depression, when there was no money for presents.


The Eleanor Series is different from other “American Girl” books in that each past story is framed with a modern-day story of one of the author’s granddaughters, who is facing a similar character challenge. When “Grand Doll” (Grandmother’s nickname) shares from the family history, even present-day girls can make the connection. Character never grows old or out of style.


Another special feature of this series are the copious pages of fun facts, discussion questions, writing opportunities, character development, and hands-on activities included in each book. For example, in Katie Sue: Heading West, readers are encouraged (and shown how) to set up a camping night. Games and camp-out recipes are included to give readers the experience that Katie Sue might have had when she camped out on her way West.


All in all, I highly recommend The Eleanor Series for girls ages 8-12 as an excellent supplement to any U.S. history curriculum. The books can also be used as an enjoyable read-aloud for the younger set. My daughter would have loved this series, and I intend to share these books with my granddaughters when they are old enough to appreciate them. or





One Response to “Review: Eleanor Series”

  1. Amos Lynch January 24, 2014 at 2:14 am #

    Yes. The Eleanor Series is comprised of seven books that all released in print form a few years back. They are being released in e-book form (one per month) between now and Christmas. I?m tickled to share that the first two books in the series are already on kindle. Click the links to discover more!